top of page
  • Writer's pictureHaneef Arbubakrr

The Real Winner’s of Fury vs Paul I


Notice I said Fury vs Paul I, as in the first because I have no doubt there will be a rematch. Jake, the problem child, had a rematch clause in his contract which I expect him to cash in.


Today, Tommy Fury won a split decision victory over Jake Paul to remain undefeated. First I want to say this fight did not go the way I thought it would. I’ve seen all of Jake’s fights and compared to all the highlights of Tommy I thought for sure Jake would land the huge overhand right to leave Thomas stankin’!


Boy was I wrong. And it was evident really fast that Fury was the better boxer. Unlike Jake, Tommy boy was putting together combinations and his punches were unpredictable. His footwork was better and he looked more experienced. He worked the body and the head. Pause.


But to Jake’s credit. He never went down. In fact he fought back. He won 2-3 rounds (depending on how you see it) and landed a critical knockdown in the 8th and final round. Crazy!


However Paul’s push was too little too late. I simply didn’t have him winning enough rounds and in boxing that’s how the cookie crumbles. On my scorecard, I had it 5 rounds to 3, in favor of Fury. MAYBE you can talk me into a draw, but no way Fury loss. I had no dog in this fight and did not bet. So the real winner is…


Us! I said this on a previous blog but I’m a big boxing fan still, despite the sport being up and down in viewership. Anytime a sport is relevant we as sports fans win. Prepare for a circus following this match and leading up to the rematch.

74 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page