top of page
  • Writer's pictureYoung Horn

Lil Dicky To Release His First Album In Eight Years: The ‘Dave’ Soundtrack

"Dave, you're a rapper?" Oh no. Bowel movements looking like Dippin' Dots, Probably 'cause I don't eat fruits and vegetables"

“Dave” and Lil Dicky fans, the artist’s first new music in eight years is finally coming to streaming services like Spotify and Apple Music later this year. Dave Burd, the “Dave” star/exec producer and rapper also known as Lil Dicky, is compiling tracks, and expanding other music cues, from the first three seasons of “Dave” that he plans to release shortly.


Dave has been one of the best shows on television since its debut in 2020. Lil Dicky has expressed throughout the process of creating his TV show, his rap career has gone to the wayside. “I realized this year, as I took a step back and looked at all the different music that’s made it into the first three seasons of the show, there’s enough here, a great body of work and a project that I can put out as a soundtrack. I think this is such a better representation of Lil Dicky the musical artist than, honestly, my first album even was. People are always like, ‘When can I get that song?’ I think this will be a cool thing for fans who have watched the show. And for people who have never even seen the show, I think they’ll enjoy listening to this as like a body of music.”


The album would serve somewhat as a “Dave” soundtrack but also as Lil Dicky’s first official release since 2015’s “Professional Rapper,” which was certified platinum and hit No. 1 on the Billboard Top Rap Albums chart. Season 3 of “Dave” wrapped on May 31 with a surprise appearance by Brad Pitt; the show also boasted cameos this year from Drake, Demi Lovato, Don Cheadle, Killer Mike, Machine Gun Kelly, Megan Fox, Rick Ross, Travis Barker, Usher, Jack Harlow and Rachel McAdams. The critically acclaimed FX series has earned high marks for its storytelling, particularly this season, as Dave embarked on a nationwide tour while also looking for love. The series also stars GaTa, Andrew Santino, Christine Ko, Taylor Misiak and Travis Bennet. GaTa, in particular, has earned high marks for his portrayal of struggles with mental health. Mr. McAdams is a banger!!

“There are bits and pieces of songs you’ve been hearing for three seasons of Lil Dicky, the musical artist. Sometimes you’ll hear 20 seconds of it, but I might have a full three minute version of that song that’s unreleased. I want to get that out to the world. It’s a really strong body of work that I’m super proud of. I was surprised when I took a step back and looked at the inventory of stuff that have made it into the show, ‘Oh, my God, there’s like a great album here of work that can live on its own.’ So that’s what I’m working on now.”


So until the album is available to stream, here is one of my favorite freestyle of Lil Dicky.



77 views0 comments

CubeMonkeySports

©2022 by CubeMonkeySports. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page