top of page
  • Writer's pictureYoung Horn

If You Don't Like the LIV Tour You Don't Like Fun (2022 Inaugural Season Recap)

This weekend wrapped up the first season of the new golf league known as the "LIV Tour". There was a lot disconnect when this league first formed, primarily due to who was funding it. PGA Tour players such as Rory McIlroy, Justin Thomas, and Jon Rahm were just a few to speak publicly on how they didn't agree with LIV and that it wasn't a real tour.


Looking at Dustin Johnson and the rest of the 4 Aces team, doesn't seem like it bothers them very much. I'm no zoologist, but popping magnum bottles of champagne and winning millions of dollars from playing golf seems sick (Also would be @UncleTims dream life).

I wasn't able to go any LIV events in person, but from everything I saw about how these events are run seems like a party on a golf course. Players have been more relaxed and interacting with fans, they play music around the course, Bryson Dechambeau walking face first into a rope.


The team play format worked out better than most fans expected, and even better for Dustin Johnsons teammates Pat Parez, Patrick Reed, and Taylor Gooch, who made a fuck ton of money on how good DJ is at golf. The 4 Aces team finished the season with 4 team wins, in which DJ won 3 of 4 of those events as an Individual as well.


Some other big name players jumped from the PGA Tour to LIV such as Brooks Koepka, Cam Smith, Bubba Watson, and everyones favorite degenerate gambler, Phil Mickelson. It was nice to see Koepka back in the winners circle as he was the individual winner at the event in Jeddah. "The last two years, they haven't been fun. It's been a long road. ... I didn't know if my career was over for a half-second. I told Claude [Harmon III, swing coach] I wasn't sure if I was going to play. It's nice to be able to come back and win." - Brooks on his win.


Cam Smith also came out hot winning his second event on the LIV Tour. Despite only playing 4 season events, Smith was able to go down to the wire against DJ in the season finale, coming up short both individually and with his team against Johnson. I was shocked he made the jump from the PGA after having a career year and a big win at the Open Champion earlier this year, but were talking about life changing money here. Yes, money can buy happiness, but it can buy Miller Lite. "I feel as though I needed to prove to myself and probably more so to other people that just because I've changed tours doesn't mean I'm a worse player for it. I'm still out here to win. That's what we're all here for. Hopefully we can keep this going." - Smith after he won the Chicago event.


I think LIV was a bigger success this season than most golf fan expected. There are definitely some details that need to be worked out, but I am looking forward to hitting an event next year. It doesn't hurt when they have concerts with The Chainsmokers and other musicians on the last day of events.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Denmark vs. Germany #UEFAEURO2024

Germany team total Over 1.5 goals (-125): So it's going to sound a bit weird to say this, but this is a bit of a contrarian play given how bad Hungary and Scotland were in the group stage. Most are sa

CubeMonkeySports

©2022 by CubeMonkeySports. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page