top of page
  • Writer's pictureYoung Horn

I Have Returned From Augusta, GA. Cam Smith And I Are Now Best Friends

I ventured down to the promised land of golf, Augusta, GA to attend the practice rounds leading up to "The Masters". Leading up to my trip down there, some media personalities were debating on whether or not attending the practice rounds at Augusta National is still considered attending the actual Masters tournament. I have gone back and fourth on this, but when you enter the grounds of the course and purchase that first $1.50 Pimento cheese sandwich and a $5 Miller lite, you can proudly say you've attended the Masters.

One of the best feelings in the world is entering the main pro shop right past the practice green and driving range, which can only be compared to that of Santas workshop. Feels like being a kid in a candy store, not knowing which direction to walk towards first, the 20 yard wall consisting of hats, deciding which color pullover you want to buy, or just ignoring the fact that you're not walking out of that store spending anything less than a G.


As you being to start walking the grounds of the course and get to the back nine, you begin to see what can only be compared to the outfield of Wrigley field with each individual patron with a beer snake of green cups. What you see on TV doesn't do this course any justice, it is even greener in person, not a piece of garbage can be found across the course, and not a blade of grass is out of place. Unfortunately they make you check your cell phones at the kiosk before entry, which was detrimental for my player interviews. However, I was able to speak with the grounds keepers and learn that they have to reseed the course annually in order to keep it that Augusta green color. Also shoutout the woman selling the Pete Millar polos, I love you.


I was able to see some of the games elites throughout the practice rounds, such as Jordan Spieth, Colin Morikawa, Scottie Scheffler, Max Homa, Billy Horschel, Jon Rahm, as well as the LIV tour players. On Monday, following the LIV event that wrapped up in Orlando, FL on Sunday afternoon, the PGA and LIV players were separately like two different fraternities. Bryson, Joaquin Niemann, and Mito Pereira played a quick 9 and then quickly did some media interviews, which I was oddly excluded from. Bryson discussed how his game hasn't always fit Augusta, despite his bomb drives and nerdy analytics.


I was fortunate enough to meet my new close personal BEST friend, Cameron Smith, and now can add him to the group chat I have with Jared Goff and Blake Bortles. Cam and a few other LIV players were finishing Monday in the practice area, when I noticed Smith was headed to sign for some of the kids by the ropes. As he began signing I had taken off my hat and asked his feedback on my mullet, in which he had chuckled and gave me a head nod. He proceeded to make his way around to the "age 16 years or younger" section to finish out his signatures for the day. I am 29 and was quickly kicked out. I had a bright idea to head to the end of the ropes and had my ticket to have my new friend Danny (age 11, its not weird), have Cam sign my ticket, ensuring Danny get his Master '23 flag signed first. "You want Cam Youngs autograph too?" had to correct his dumb ass not to call him not to call him Cam Young. Long story short, Danny was able to get my ticket signed, and I once again asked Smith his thoughts on my mullet, in which his fluffed it up with his hand and said it needs some work (kinda sus). All in all a great week to be down in Augusta. Here are a few of the players I bet to take home the first major of the year.


2023 Masters Winner Bets:

Cameron Smith

Max Homa

Brooks Koepka

Justin Thomas

Sungjae Im


I will also be rocking a mullet in soldiery with Cam.



CubeMonkeySports

©2022 by CubeMonkeySports. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page