top of page
  • Writer's pictureHaneef Arbubakrr

Drake Album Review

On October 6th Drake released his highly anticipated album, For All The Dogs. This album was every version of the Drake that we know. The uptempo shit talking Drizzy, petty borderline sassy Drake, Slow song and singing Drake, multiple voices Drizzy, different language Drake and rap rap Drake.


This album is “for all the dogs” but the first song he’s singing like Marvin’s room, it’s still for the girls.” That’s what my friend Marie declared.


With that said, let’s get started.


So I wrote this blog in the way I was actually listening to the album. I started in my car (the car test) on the way to the gym because that’s where music sounds the best.


Track 1 Virginia Beach. Cool intro. Beat hard. All boxes checked but not a home run.


Track 2 Amen. A bop with content. I like. I don’t know who Teezo Touchdown is but he understood the assignment on this record.


Track 3 Calling For You. A vibe. The skit was funny. I’m sure he has some petty reason why it was on here. And then the beat dropped and 21 savage came off the top rope talking his shit. Who has been Drake’s best tag team partner? There’s so many to choose from….Future? Ross? 21? Wayne?


Track 4 Fear of Heights. This song is outta hereee!! Y’all will hear this on repeat at the clubs, lounges, ig stories. I had to put this one on repeat. “GIRL!!! 🐈🐕”.


Track 5 Daylight. Kept the momentum going. At this point I’m jumping up and down about to start my workout. Drake loves Devin Booker.


Track 6 First Person Shooter. I know that’s not Jermaine I hear. Stop. No seriously stop the music. I have to workout. I know that ain’t who I think it is.


Okay I’m back. I don’t know what to say about what those two just did on that song………..thank you. This song will be talked about and dissected for the rest of this year. I love what Cole did of course. Cole has like 3 of the 5 best verses every year.


I like what Drake did as well but I think he left a little meat on the bone. He really could have put his foot on people throats. Let’s hear some names. Tell us why you the goat if that’s how you feel. 4 quarter is for the big dogs! Man I love this song.


Imagine a Cole and Drizzy album together. I’ve listen to this song 10 times already! No bars were wasted and I appreciate that.


Ok after listening to that song for 20 minutes, Slime You Out sounds better mixed in the album sequence as well even though he still owe Ms. Berry an apology.


Jumping down to track 11, Tried Our Best is one of his better songs “for the ladies”. Definitely something to vibe with late night or early morning. What’s better, morning sex or night sex? What y’all think?


There was some songs on the second half of the album that I’m not a fan of. But there are a few that I like; Drew a Piscasso, Members Only, What would Pluto Do, 8am in Charlotte all slaps!


“And when you layin’ on your stomach, only time I ever wanna get my lick back.” - Drew a Piscasso.


“You’re too down with the gangy, you’re one of my members.” - Members Only.


“Baby girl, Adonis need a sister, okay….And my baby mama out the picture, okay.” - What would Pluto Do.


“Not sayin’ I’m the best at what I do…I’m just sayin’ that it’s me versus whoever wanna lose.” - 8am in Charlotte.


At 19 and 20 he has a song with Bad Bunny and then Sexy Red. Both of those will get played a lot. I’m not sure how much I’ll go back to them personally but I appreciate the collaborations. I probably won’t go back to them, I’m sorry lol.


And after listening to the album combined with the It’s All a Blur Tour, I believe him when he say he’s taking a break.


Big picture….I won’t take away from this album by comparing it to my two favorite Drake albums Nothing Was The Same and Take Care but I will say it’s one of his best works in a few years.


It’s 23 songs, what percentage of the album do you have to like for it to be a great project?


As far as my critiques:


  1. I don’t like long albums. 23 songs is too many songs. I’d cut like 6 of them. Throw those bad boys in the ocean.

  2. I think he should have addressed some folks by name like Pusha. Put a name on those bullets if this is for all the dogs. Like the way Cole said YB name. Again if this is for all the dogs than bite some shit.


Lastly, I won’t take away from The Boy’s moment by debating if he’s the Goat or not. I will say he’s in my top 3 all-time, (Jay and Wayne) and if you have anyone ahead of him, he probably took a step in closing that gap.


Really good album. Not a classic but definitely not no mid.


Siri play First Person Shooter again….for all the dogs.



176 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Denmark vs. Germany #UEFAEURO2024

Germany team total Over 1.5 goals (-125): So it's going to sound a bit weird to say this, but this is a bit of a contrarian play given how bad Hungary and Scotland were in the group stage. Most are sa

CubeMonkeySports

©2022 by CubeMonkeySports. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page