top of page
  • Writer's pictureYoung Horn

"The Glizzy Gladiator"

This is a real coming of age tale, it started on a dark and stormy night last November. It was the first season of being a season ticket holder for the NY Islanders (not a big deallllll), and there is no better individual food item at a sporting event than a hot dog. Depending on the arena I personally go kraut and mustard, usually have to settle for just mustard, and ketchup on a hot dog is prime crime.


I embarked on a journey of 41 home games last season, only making it to about 30, in which I consumed on average a hot dog per game (UBS arena sells foot-longs, counts as 2). It only took about 6-7 home games for me to start being heckled by the 13 year olds that sat behind me, and thus, the "Glizzy Gladiator" was born. I couldn't get a hot dog in between periods at an Islanders game without these two finding me and calling me the Gladiator, and worst of all, they usually caught me mid bite. Imagine trying to come back at a 13 year old with a mouth full of glizzy? Since then I have embraced it and will not be shamed by a couple kids who do Fortnite dances when the islanders score, and will not let them hold power over me similar to the janitor in my office - for reference (https://manage.wix.com/dashboard/e3e74603-1dea-40f4-9f94-4890dc448588/blog/53f99459-82af-4c93-b446-fc1f6e5cedef/edit?referralInfo=sidebar)


Fast forward to this season, besides live betting the Islanders ML when they are down 3-1 heading into the 3rd period, and becoming rich, Kyle Palmieri has also benefited from me guzzling down some glizzies at UBS arena. So far this season on days I eat a hot dog, Kyle has scored in 4 of the 5 games (the game he didn't score was in Detroit so were not counting that). Am I saying I am the reason for Kyles hot start in the 2022-2023 season? Yes I am. Kyle had 15 goals last season and already has 5 this season courtesy of my hot dog consumption. I am in the works of putting together a collaboration with Kyle, and or a sponsorship from Nathans. Until then, I will continue to eat a hot dog every home game, and the Pride of Smithtown (NY) will continue to score.




19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

CubeMonkeySports

©2022 by CubeMonkeySports. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page