top of page
  • Writer's pictureYoung Horn

The Browns Have Clinched A Playoff Birth, Led By Lord And Savior Joe Flacco

I would like to apologize, it has been 46 days since I have last posted a blog, but I am please to announce that after 17 weeks, with an 11-5 record (8-1 @ home), and with 4 different starting QB's....MY Cleveland Browns will be heading to the NFL playoffs, with a chance at the #1 Seed in the AFC. But before we get to all of that I would like to take all of you down memory lane, and I am not talking about the laundry list of Browns starting quarterbacks over the last 20 years.


The date was November 22, 2012, the location was Metlife Stadium, as the New York Jets hosted the New England Patriots. I was younger, not as horny(debatable), and sitting with a tummy full off Thanksgiving food as I was excited to watch a team I was formally a fan take on a division rival. Unfortunately, there was a play that happened in the second quarter that changed the future of the my NFL fandom. If you are a football fan, I am sure you know what I am referring to, the infamous butt fumble.


"I have never seen this before in my life"- Chris Collinsworth. I remember not watching the rest of that game and declaring I was no longer a Jets fan, and would become a free agent looking for a new NFL franchise to be a fan of.


Sure, I had the haters, but YH you cant just pick a team that is always in the playoffs, or have a great franchise history and multiple SuperBowls. So I spent the rest of the 2012 season crunching the numbers, reviewing the data, and plotting my next move. After all of that, fast forward to August of 2013, I declared I will be rooting for the Cleveland Browns. A team that was historically bad, often being the laughing stock of the NFL. 5-11 in 2012, with nothing to be excited about for the 2013 season now as a Browns fan.


Since becoming a fan of Cleveland this is only their 2nd season with a winning record. This will also be their playoff appearance since 2012. I was mocked, laughed at, had my decision questioned. In 2020 we saw some hope, as Baker Mayfield won the first playoff game for the Browns since 1994, over division rival and notable pervert, Ben Roethlisberger.


Fast forward to 2022, the Browns decided to get a pervert of their own, Deshaun Watson. We can omit all of that and I don't stand with his actions and have nothing but respect for the hard working individuals who work at massage parlors. I was often fortunate enough to watch 20 different starting QB's, purchasing two jersey of the 20 QB's (Manziel/Mayfield), with a 3rd on the way.


Joe Flacco will be the third Browns QB I have purchased a jersey of. The 11-5 Browns are now 4-1 with Flacco starting over the past five weeks. Signed off the street to resume his career, the 38-year-old Flacco has stepped in and become a better story line, and humble Italian American than Tommy Cutlets.


The Browns clinched with a 37-20 win over the Jets on Thursday night. Despite having their 4th QB, losing their starting RB, offensive line plagued with injury. So Amari Cooper was out and Elijah Moore got injured Thursday, but how's this for a Joe Flacco stat line? 16 for 22, 296 passing yards, and 3 touchdowns, oh and that was just the first half.


I said it after the Browns won on Christmas Eve, and I am brave enough to say it. Comeback player of the year should be a two horse race between Joe Flacco, and former Browns QB, Baker Mayfield who is having a resurgence in Tampa this season. I am sorry Damar Hamlin, someone had to say it. This clip of Flacco and Watson was objectively hilarious.

"This is obviously a very unique situation for me, so a lot of different emotions are going through my head," said Flacco, who is the first quarterback in NFL history to put up at least 250 passing yards and multiple passing touchdowns in each of his first five games with a new franchise. "The city has been so unbelievable. ... You can just tell they love football, and it's special going out there and playing for them." Six weeks ago, Flacco was on his couch, and throwing the ball around with his brother in the backyard. Shout out the Jets for not bringing him in after Rodgers got hurt.


"This meant the world, man," said tight end David Njoku, who finished with a game-high 134 yards on six receptions. "This team is resilient as fuck, excuse my language. ... There was so much adversity this year. But we overcame it. I'm so proud of these guys. But we're not finished."


People forget....Flacco won a SuperBowl before, and is an elite QB, but I don't. Now giving me a Ravens Browns playoff game on the way to Vegas for the SuperBowl. Also people are starting to asking what happens if the Browns play my best and very close friend, Jared Goff and the Detriot Loins in the SuperBowl. We will get to that if it happens. My brother declared that to be the "YoungHorn Bowl" and Blake Bortles would have to do the coin toss.


Shoutout @stavvybaby for having me speaking in a shitty Baltimore accent when I say Joe Flacco YO!


Recent Posts

See All

CubeMonkeySports

©2022 by CubeMonkeySports. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page