top of page
  • Writer's pictureYoung Horn

It's Finally Done, Rangers Acquire Patrick Kane

The New York Rangers acquired star forward Patrick Kane from the Chicago Blackhawks.

Booooooooo.


The former league MVP who has spent his 16 year career with Chicago will be heading to the Big Apple. I'm going to let you all in on a little secret I've learned from being an New York resident my entire life (not counting a 2 year stint in Dallas when I got the outline of Texas tattooed on my ass), but if you can make it here....you can make it anywhere.


At 34, Kane, is no longer in the Hart Trophy conversation and was playing on a rebuilding Chicago team. So, the Stanley Cup-contending Rangers jumped at the chance to acquire him. Kane has 45 points (16 goals, 29 assists) in 54 games this season. But he's been red-hot recently, scoring seven goals and adding three assists in his last four games. Thats why they call him "Showtime".


It sucks to see one of my favorite NHL players, and best American born hockey player ever go to the other NY hockey team, as an Islanders game, but see have to give my unbiased opinion on the trade. The Rangers are dumb for trying to go "all-in" when everyone and their mother knows Boston will win the Stanley Cup this year, back me up Uncle Tim!


Yes, Kane will be reuniting with Artemi Panarin, who he was teammates with in Chicago and they put up crazy numbers as line mates. Yes, Kane is a proven playoff performer having posted 52 goals and 80 assists for a staggering 132 points in 136 postseason games over his 16-year NHL career. Yes, Kane is a three-time Stanley Cup winner. But I don't care about any of that. What I am concerned about is the safety of NYC cab drivers with Kane in Manhattan, not the Rangers winning their first Stanley Cup since '94.


Used to have a sick mullet though.


CubeMonkeySports

©2022 by CubeMonkeySports. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page