top of page
  • Writer's pictureYoung Horn

Is Baker Done...or is this a small set back for a MAJOR comeback.

Stop me if you heard this before, but another NFL #1 overall pick QB is struggling. I am one of the biggest Baker Mayfield defenders. Most days I also wake up feeling dangerous...the other days I wake up sad (not Bakers fault).


Baker didn't get a fair shake from the Browns this offseason. He played hurt last year, gutted it out when he probably should have healed up for the second half of the season. Baker has always had the chip on his shoulder mentality, with some swag and cockiness mixed in. What he did for the Browns was change their culture and win football games.


What he is doing for the Carolina Panthers is quite the opposite. He ranks 32nd in QBR (16.6)...not great. He is now expected to miss 2-6 weeks with an ankle injury. Personally, I have made plenty of excuses for Baker, but I do believe he is better than the 32nd QB in the NFL. He has proved to be a winner in the NFL...lead the Browns to winning season in 2020 and beat a conference rival in the playoffs (first playoff win since 1994)


I'm no NFL exec but it doesn't take a rocket scientist to see how much Baker has struggled this year. He has always had offensive weapons and its time to get healthy and produce. It will depend on how Sam Darnold does with Baker sidelined but I do expect a big comeback from Baker when he returns.




3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page